Click Here to Return to the LSBA Forum Homepage

LSBA Homepage LSBA Store Join the LSBA FAQ Online Radio Calendar Gallery
Go Back   Lone Star Bowhunters Association > Bowhunting In General > LSBA Campfire
Get Weather Info. Enter your zipcode:

Register Crossword Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-29-2014, 12:28 PM   #1
Speed Trap

LSBA Region: 76
Last Activity: 02-28-2014
 @ 10:16 AM 
Default Looking Back

Greetings all,

First off, it is dang cold and I'm stuck working the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo until February 8th instead of chasing the numerous pigs that are running around my lease. I was able to get six this year, with the two smallest being around 125 and 150 pounds. The other four were 225 and up to 300 pounds.

I've not been on the LSBA site in quite awhile, and today, killing some time, was going over some older posts and wanted to ask a question that still may be a touchy subject, CROSSBOWS.

I've been bowhunting since 1976 when I bought my first recurve at the age of 16 and missed many a deer for the next couple of years due to the fact that I really didn't know what I was doing growing up in the hardwoods and swamps of Louisiana and trying to pull a 60 pound Bear and weighing a mere 125 pounds. After joining the USAF, I had the money and bought a Whitetail compound and hunted with it for a couple of years, and after all the advances in technology, I have been hunting with a Mathews since 1992. Just wish I had all the money I spent on the 25 or so Mathews I've purchased since that time.

Anyway, this past year I got to thinking and pondering deer/pig hunting and came to the conclusion that I've harvested a deer or pig with everything but a knife, spear and crossbow. I've hunted with pistols, shotguns, longbow, recurve and rifle for the past 40+ years and decided this past season I was going to try the crossbow.